5 Mar 2018   |     admin   |     Sports   |     ,

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2018

Logo 27th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup is an annual international men’s field hockey tournament held in Malaysia. The tournament is named after the 9th Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) of Malaysia, Sultan Azlan Shah, The late Sultan of Perak, Malaysia, an avid fan of field hockey. As the history, it began in 1983 every 2 years (biennial) contest, and later the tournament became an annual event (every year) after 1998 following its growth and popularity.

This year The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup is the 27th tournament, held in Ipoh, Perak, from 3 march to 10 march 2018. The number of teams for this year’s cup are as same as last year’s tournament where 6 teams competed. Japan and New Zealand, who competed previously, will not join this edition and being replaced by Argentina and Ireland. Great Britain’s countries that will participate in this edition is England only. So the teams are; Malaysia (host), Argentina, Australia, England, India & Ireland.



No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.