18 Feb 2016   |       |     Malaysia, Sports   |     , , ,

Perak The Bos Gaurus 2016

Perak The Bos Gaurus

Perak The Bos Gaurus (Malay: Kelab Bola Sepak Perak The Bos Gaurus) or The Bos Gaurus for short is a football club club that formed on 18 April 1951. Although a formal association was only formed in 1951, Perak The Bos Gaurus actually had a football team since 1921, which participated in the Malaya Cup (later HMS Malaya Cup, known today as the Malaysia Cup). They were also one of the founding members of theMalayan Football Association (the predecessor of the modern Football Association of Malaysia) which happened in 1926. The team was known as Perak FA from the establishment before the the privatisation initiative on the league level took place where the management formed a club under it as Perak Football Club or Perak FC for short. Later on, they changed it again to fit the team vision by changing it to current name Perak The Bos Gaurus.

They are the third most successful team in the Malaysia Cup competition with 7 wins and 11-second-place finishes. They won the last of their 7 titles in 2000 and were runners-up in the 2007 edition. In 2003, Perak became the first team in 13 years to achieve back-to-back league titles in Malaysian football.

Perak is the only team in Malaysia that has never been demoted to a lower division since the professional league was introduced in 1989. Perak calls the 42,500-seat Perak Stadium as its home ground, although it has played some matches at the 15,000-seat Lumut Stadium (inside the Royal Malaysian Navy (TLDM) base in Lumut, Perak) whenever Perak Stadium has not been not available. Perak’s home ground is also sometimes referred to by its nickname, Fair Park as Perak Stadium is located near Fair Park in Ipoh where the team’s office is situated.

Perak’s nickname is Seladang which is the Malay name for Gaur. A favourite tagline of its supporters is Kejor Yeop Kejor, which roughly translates to “Chase It, Brother, Chase”. The tagline was adopted by the team after the state government used it as their tagline for the 1996 Sukma Games. In 2007, Perak introduced a team song entitled, ‘Skor Yeop Skor’.

On 11 January 2014, Menteri Besar Perak, Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir has launch a new logo, Tagline “Kejor Yeop Skor” and a new nickname for Perak that is “The Bos Gaurus” which is a species of Indian Bison.



Free of The Week
Loading Preview...

No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.