20 Feb 2016   |     fqemo   |     Malaysia, Sports   |     , , ,

Piala F.A 2016

Piala FA 2016

The Malaysia FA Cup (Piala FA Malaysia) is a national knock–out football competition organised by the Football Malaysia LLP with supervision help of Football Association of Malaysia. The cup currently known as Superbest Power FA Cup (Superbest Power Piala FA in Malay) for 3 years until 2018 for sponsorship reason.

The tournament was introduced during the Semi–Pro League era in 1990. The first winner of the competition is Perak who beat Selangor 4–2 in the final at Merdeka Stadium, Kuala Lumpur.

The winners will qualify for the AFC Cup competition alongside the champions of Malaysia Super League.

For 2016 season, there will be 32 teams competing in the tournament with 12 teams each from Malaysia Super League and Malaysia Premier League while the other 8 teams will be decided with a play-off within Malaysia FAM League teams.


No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.