13 May 2015   |     Faizal   |     Government, Organisation   |    

JAKIM – Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia

Logo Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia - JAKIM

Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia – JAKIM, began with the establishment of the National Council for Islamic Affairs, Malaysia (MKI) in 1968 when its establishment was agreed by the Conference of Rulers. In 1974, the Secretariat of the MKI was upgraded to a Religious Division in the Prime Minister’s Department and was given the name of the Bahagian Hal Ehwal Islam – BAHEIS, ‘Islamic Affairs Division’.

In line with the development of the country and the contemporary needs of the Muslim community, the Islamic Affairs Division (BAHEIS) has been restructured. On 2nd October 1996, the Cabinet agreed with the recommendation that the status of BAHEIS of the Prime Minister’s Department be upgraded into a Department effective on 1st January 1997 with the name of Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia – JAKIM, ‘Department of Islamic Development Malaysia’.

JAKIM establishment is seen as one platform to meet the needs of the Muslim community in line with the development of the country that makes Islam as its official religion. The transformation carried out by JAKIM is in line with the vision, mission, motto, objectives and functions of this department as a leader in building a superior civilisation for the ummah.

To strengthen the management and produce a more efficient workforce, JAKIM is divided into four main sectors: Policy Sector, Human Development Sector, Management Sector and Sector Under the Director General. These sectors formed 22 divisions and all of them are under the auspices of Jakim compared to just 14 divisions during the earlier part of its establishment.

Divisions in the Policy Sector are the Planning and Research Division, Islamic Development Division, Communication Division, Fatwa Management Division, Law Coordination Division. The divisions under the Human Development Sector is divided into Da’wah Division, Human Development Division, Family, Social and Community Division, Publishing Division and Media Division.



No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.