24 Mar 2012   |     fqemo   |     Football, Sports   |    

Sime Darby Football Club

Sime Darby F.C. was formed on 22 January 2010, and made its debut in the 2010 Malaysia FAM League, which is the third tier football league in Malaysia. It is backed by the Sime Darby Group, one of Malaysia’s largest conglomerates, and was officially launched on 4 March 2010.

Sime Darby F.C. finished undefeated champions of the 2010 Malaysia FAM League, thereby clinching the Malaysia FAM Cup 2010 and winning promotion to the Malaysia Premier League, which is the second tier football league in Malaysia.

In its maiden season in the 2011 Malaysia Premier League, Sime Darby F.C. finished fifth out of twelve teams. For the 2011 season, Sime Darby F.C. played at the MBPJ Stadium in Kelana Jaya,Selangor, although it has played some matches in PERMATA Petronas Stadium in Bangi, Selangor. Sime Darby F.C. then beat Malaysia Super League team Pahang FA 6-0 on aggregate to qualify for their first ever Malaysia Cuptournament. In the 2011 Malaysia Cup, they were in Group B together with Terengganu FA, Negeri Sembilan FA and Selangor PKNS FC. Although they were unable to qualify for the knock-out rounds, it was an experience indeed for the young team.

For the 2012 Malaysia Premier League, Sime Darby FC have roped in 2 import players from Liberia – Patrick Wleh and Sengbah Kennedy to boost their squad. The team have also acquired experienced players including Razali Umar Kandasamy from Perak FA, Irme Mat, Zamri Hassan and Hairul Nizam Haniff from 2011 Malaysia Premier League champions Selangor PKNS FC, and Shoufiq Kusaini from Johor FA, among others.

The team will be playing their home games at the Majlis Perbandaran Selayang Stadium for the 2012 season.



No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.