18 Nov 2010   |     palacca   |     Football, Organisation, Sports   |    

Asean Football Federation (AFF)

ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) is a subset of nations within the Asian Football Confederation from Southeast Asia. ASEAN stands for Association of South East Asian Nations. The AFF was founded in 1984 by the nations of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei joined in the same year. Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam joined the AFF in 1996.
In 1996, the federation ran the first Tiger Cup and since then it has further expanded its role.
Today the AFF is still expanding with East Timor joining the organization in 2004 and Australia joined the Asian Football Confederation on January 1, 2006. Australia has sent youth squads to the ASEAN Youth Tournaments.
On August 7, 2008, AFF formally announced Suzuki as the new sponsor of their premier international competition, the ASEAN Football Championship.

Asean Football Federation (AFF) website


submitted by palacca

Free of The Week
Loading Preview...

No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.