26 Oct 2014   |       |     Government, Sabah   |    

Eastern Sabah Security Command – ESSCOM

Eastern Sabah Security Command ESSCOM

The Eastern Sabah Security Command – ESSCOM is a Malaysian security area that covers 1,400 km of the East Coast of Sabah from Kudat (North) to Tawau (East South). Established by the Malaysian Prime Minister, Dato’ Seri Najib Abdul Razak, ESSCOM was announced on 7 March 2013 by Musa Aman, the Chief Minister of Sabah. Headquartered at Lahad Datu, ESSCOM was setup to strengthen maritime security in the eastern part of Sabah following the 2013 invasion crisis and prevent terrorist activities in the waters of Sabah, while at the same time ensuring the safety of the people and tourist in Sabah and protecting business activities.

On February 2014, the Malaysian government announced plans to further extend the ESSCOM area to reach Sarawak. Ministry of Defence, Hishammuddin Hussein in his statement said discussions would be held with the government of Brunei, the Sarawak state government and oil and gas companies operating in the waters before the move was implemented.

On 8 July 2014, Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak announced the restructuring of the ESSCOM with the setting up of two major components – security and defence management as well as enforcement and public action.. wiki

ESSCOM merupakan “ejen penguatkuasaan keselamatan” bagi ESSZONE yang merangkumi 10 daerah itu, dan diwujudkan khusus bagi menjaga kedaulatan dan keselamatan kawasan pantai timur negeri ini ekoran krisis pencerobohan di Tanduo, Lahad Datu. Pewujudan ESSZONE turut menyaksikan penubuhan satu jawatankuasa menurut Peraturan-Peraturan PemeliharaanKeselamatan Awam 2013 yang digubal oleh Menteri Dalam Negeri.

Jawatankuasa ESSZONE itu dipengerusikan oleh Ketua Menteri Sabah, Datuk Seri Musa Aman manakala PerdanaMenteri Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak mempengerusikan jawatankuasa pemantau.


Free of The Week
Loading Preview...

No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.